Book Review: ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven

Posted on Updated on

I already posted it at my old wordpress account (https://stclairee.wordpress.com/) but since I am not using that blog anymore, I’ll just post here all my previous posts from that account.

As I was searching for a new book to read, I came across this “all the bright places” by Jennifer Niven. I got curious because the description of the book says that it is a crossover of The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park. Since those books are my favorites, I immediately read it.

So this is how the story goes, a boy named Theodore Finch constantly thinks of ways to kill himself. In their school, he is called a freak and people think he’s weird, and a girl named Violet Markey, who got in a car accident with her sister. She changed a lot because of that incident and in the story, it shows that she is waiting for her graduation because it means that she can escape that place that makes her remember her sister. They met on top of their school’s bell tower where Finch talks Violet out of jumping. They became partners in their US Geography class where they need to visit different tourists’ attractions in their place. And that’s where their adventure starts.

I honestly have high expectations to this book because of its description. I enjoy reading it but I can’t say that I love this book. I really don’t know what I should feel for this. And I didn’t think that it’s a crossover of The Fault In Our Stars and Eleanor And Park. I feel like it’s just a copy of TFIOS except that TFIOS is about cancer while All The Bright Places is about suicide.

I don’t know why I didn’t love this book. I mean, the characters are well-developed, the use of poetry made it more interesting; I really like the characters’ dialogues and the moral story of this book. Perhaps it’s because these types of books are really overrated? Or maybe, there’s something about TFIOS that makes me feel that other books like that will never exceed TFIOS.

Leave a Reply

